Southeastern Symphony Orchestra

The Southeastern Symphony Orchestra will present its final fall concert Nov. 28. Titled “A Celebration of Talent,” the free concert is scheduled in Pottle Music Auditorium at 7.30 p.m. Associate Professor of Clarinet at Texas State University Vanguel Tangarov will be featured as international guest clarinetist.

The Southeastern Symphony Orchestra will present its final fall concert in Pottle Music Auditorium on Wednesday, Nov. 28.

Titled “A Celebration of Talent,” the free concert is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. and will feature the winners of the Community Music School Concerto Competition as soloists.

CMS members performing solos in the concert include Emma Cecchini of Denham Springs, Anna Johnson of Hammond, Kelsey Jones of Albany, Alana Saenz and Brennan Saenz of Mandeville. Violin Professor and Orchestra Director Victor Correa-Cruz will serve as conductor.

“We have the joy of introducing our youngest soloists, a talented group of violinists who are being trained at the Southeastern Community Music School,” Correa-Cruz said. “This will be a major challenge in their developing careers, as well as a valuable experience that will bring them artistic and professional growth.

“This is the beginning of what is intended to be a long-lasting collaboration between our pre-college program and the Southeastern Symphony Orchestra.” 

Correa-Cruz said the symphony will perform pieces by Vivaldi, Kuchler, Mozart and Grieg in a wide selection of music, covering a musical repertoire from the Baroque to the Romantic eras. The concert will also feature international guest clarinetist Vanguel Tangarov.

Dr. Tangarov is an associate professor of clarinet at Texas State University and artistic director and founder of the annual international clarinet event “Texas State Clarinet Fiesta,” said Correa-Cruz.

He performs as principal clarinetist for the Austin Opera, Mid-Texas Symphony, and Victoria Symphony orchestras. He has also performed in more than 20 countries on four continents, winning positive critical acclaim, Correa-Cruz said.

The orchestra will present Kuchler’s Concertino for Violin in D Major Op. 15; Vivaldi’s Concerto for two Violins in A Minor Op. 3, No. 8; Mozart’s Overture to “Le Nozze di Figaro” K. 492 and Concerto for Clarinet in A Major K. 622; and Grieg’s “Peer Gynt” Suites No. 1 and 2.

For more information about the concert, contact the Department of Music and Performing Arts at (985) 549-2184.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.