Watson — Live Oak High School celebrated its Seventh Annual Soaring Eagles Banquet on Friday, March 3, recognizing students for their academic achievements.

Among the seniors recognized were those who have a 4.0 GPA for four years while taking AP classes and seniors with all A’s who took four or more AP classes.

Other students who maintained a 4.0 GPA while taking an AP class were recognized, along with students who kept a GPA above 4.0 while taking AP classes.

Also honored were students who scored a 27 or higher on the ACT.

Senior Jack Dalberg also was honored as a National Merit Finalist, the first Live Oak High student to receive the award in 25 years.

Approximately 1.6 million students take the PSAT in their junior year of high school and 50,000 National Merit Semifinalists.

They then complete an application, must have a high academic record, write an essay, be recommended by a school official and earn a score on the SAT that confirms their PSAT performance.

Approximately 15,000 of the 50,000 are selected as National Merit Finalists.

Also recognized at the banquet were Deanna Luneau, Live Oak High School Student of the Year, and Brett Beard, Live Oak High School Teacher of the Year.

The following seniors were recognized for maintaining at least a cumulative 4.0 GPA all four years of high school and have taken one or more AP class: Alexis Boyd, Elizabeth Buckhalter, Peyton Burke, Blair Byers, Cody Fontenot, Caitlin Griffin, Heather Hembree, Joshua Hibbard, Ean Hill, Morgan King, Deanna Luneau, Kelsey Miller, Vallory Mustachia, Colt Nolan, Victoria Rittell, Laine’ Rogers, Alex Sauhing, Scotty Smith, Zachary Smith, Noah Tate, Elyssa Walker, Presley Wascom, Melissa Welch.

Seniors who maintained all A’s and have taken four or more AP classes included: Jack Dalberg, Zachary Woodall, Daniel Loper.

Juniors who have at least a 4.0 GPA while taking AP classes are: Jordy Adams, Cassidy Altazin, Shea Blanchard, Ethan Brooks, Savannah Buckhalter, Robin Capps, GraceAnn Carroll, Kelsey Case, Kaylin Cooper, Catherine Dicapo, Ashley Hanna, Claudia Henry, Jordan Holloway, Gurpreet Kaur, Matthew Kloepfer, Summer Lafargue, Nathan Long, Shaun McFadden, Sydney Norris, Justin Peters, Dylan Rea, Travis Rosenberg, Hayden Sandifer, Colin Shultz, Cole Shultz, Mandy Seale, Navy Tedder.

Juniors who have above a 4.0 GPA while taking AP classes: Emily Maranto, Nicholas Rea, Jaidyn Weaver.

Sophomores who have at least a 4.0 GPA while taking AP classes are: Emma Alessi, Brianna Allen, Claire Aydell, Olivia Blanchard, Rylie Butler, Rebekah Cummings, Amber Daniels, Emily Davison, Kayla Dearman, Alexis Edwards, Kaley Fontenot, Sydney Forbes, Molly Glenn, Ive Jacobson, Aji Njie, Emily Patrick, Anthony Shaidaee.

Sophomores who have above a 4.0 GPA while taking AP classes are: Hope Alessi, Katelyn Baker, Nicholas Broderick, Nicholas Budde, Cade Canepa, Summer Didier, Kross Doiron, Christian Fritz, Autumn Gafford, Kody Guidry, Kaitlyn Hall, Noah Jeffers, Halle Jones, Sara Martin, Tyshea McGee, Bradley Reed, Blake Schubert, Luke Taylor.

Freshmen who have a 4.0 GPA while taking AP classes are: Zoe Ali, Gavin Avery, Michael Cowart, Alaina Griffin, Leslie Lively, Starlyn Pickett, Ivy Terrell, Tori Zachary, Tyler Zeringue.

The following students have maintained all A’s with AP classes: Haley Bordelon, Jordan Chenevert, Rachel Fontenot, Parker Giering, Elizabeth Hilton, Molly Malarcher, Peyton McCalla, Ariana Milner, Ainsley Nunneley, Emily Rushing, Emogene Stringer, Gabriele Troxclair.

The following students were recognized for their ACT scores during the 2016-2017 school year: (27) Hailey Blondeau, Laney Chandler, Camryn Curtis, Justin Dantzler, Alexis Mackey, Sara Martin, Kelsey Miller, Steven Nolan, Rebecca Rushing, Madelyne Taylor. (28) Robin Capps, Cameron Hebert, Carlie Hill, Mallory Laborde, Fiona McClain, Justin Peters, Kathryn Rogers, Travis Rosenberg. (29) Alexis Boyd, Ethan Brooks, Kaitlyn Hall, Joshua Hibbard, Lauren McCreary, Landon Mears, Victoria Rittell, Elyssa Walker, Melissa Welch.

ACT (30) Jared Comeaux, Cody Fontenot, Ashley Hanna, Lainé Rogers, Alex Sauhing, Presley Wascom. (31) Peyton Burke, Deanna Luneau, Emily Maranto, Jaidyn Weaver, Zachary Woodall. (32) Ean Hill, Morgan King, Daniel Loper, Zachary Smith. (34) Noah Tate. (35) Jack Dalberg.

The following students received the AP Scholar Award, given to students who score of 3 or higher on three or more AP exams. Brendon Baker, Alexis Boyd, Cody Fontenot, Ean Hill, Morgan King, Matthew Kloepfer, Emily Maranto, Cameron Martin, Lauren McCreary, Kelsey Miller, Steven Nolan, Kathryn Rogers, Travis Rosenberg, William Smith, Noah Tate, Madelyne Taylor.

The AP Scholar with Honor Award is given to students who receive an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP exams, and scores of 3 or higher on four or more of exams: Jack Dalberg, Deanna Luneau, Victoria Rittell, Laine' Rogers, Zachary Smith, Jaidyn Weaver.

AP Scholars with Distinction Award goes to students with an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken and scores of 3 or higher on five or more exams: Joshua Hibbard, Daniel Loper.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.